See selections for all states in Greater Lansing

Leo Arana (8) of Okemos wins the ball against East Lansing in the Gold Cup final Thursday 6 October 2022.

The Okemos and Lansing Christians football teams spent the majority of this fall in the state standings.

Both programs claimed league and district championships and made it to the regional games.

Some of the key individuals who have influenced this success include players from Greater Lansing who have been named by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association.

Three Okemos players have been named Division I honors, with linebacker Liu Aria earning first-ever nationwide recognition for leading the team. Midfielder Alex Gandy was also named to the second team and goalkeeper Sawyer van Antwerp earned third team honors.

Quarterback Owen Risch was among four Lansing Christian players recognized in Division Four and was a first-team selection. Forward Elijah Ellis was named to the second team, while goaltender Brady Carmichael and forward Tyler Kendrick were honorable mention choices.

Lansing Christian's Owen Risch moves the ball against Hillsdale Academy, Tuesday, October 25, 2022, at Lansing Christian School.

DeWitt, Mason, Eaton Rapids, Alma and Dansville also made multiple all-state selections.

DeWitt, who tied Okemos for the CAAC Blue title and won the region championship, earned five Division 2 player honors. Midfielder Lucas Perez was the first team selected to captain DeWitt, while Ruslan Masalitin and Brayden Powers were named to the third team. The Panthers also had a pair of honorable mention picks in goaltender Jackson Janderwski and defenseman Caiden McDonald.

Mason was awarded the district nickname and four players were recognized. Midfielder Lucas Nye was named to the first team and striker Belendi Al Jahiri and goalkeeper Dominique Casale were honorable mention picks in Division 2.

Eton Rapids' Kyle Busch, left, blocked an attempt to shut down Gross Elle's goal at Landon Bridge Road during the second half of overtime on Thursday, October 27, 2022, at Williamston High School.

Honored with four players, Eton Rapids has won league and district championships and reached a regional final in Division Three. Goaltender Kyle Bosh was the team’s third selection, while midfielder Robert Noyes, forward Drew Holivak and defender Carter Buckingham were named honorable mention all-state.

Alma won the District 3 Championship and has multiple all-state selections. Forward Leo Richter was named to the Second Team, midfielder Jacques Lemirand earned Third Team honors, and Noah Vega, Daniel Ash and Corey Yates were honorable mention choices.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: